Sketchbook walk

I struggle to get out of the house without my 3 year old son in toe so I had to do this exercise from photographs. There are points about each of these sketches I do and don’t like.

The first one was from a badly lit photo. It was taken in the bright sunshine but this made a blur on my camera lens and made all the details unreadable. I tried make them up where I thought the lights and shadows would go but looking back I can see that I got some of them wrong. Lesson learned here is to take reference photos when I’m not having to run around after a toddler.

The second sketch I thought went well, although looking at it as a photo I can see that my perspective seems to be bent.

The third one I like although I should have used a smaller brush to do the leaves on the tree because I have put too many in for the time of year.

The last sketch is my favourite although the reflection of the tall trees is too dark in comparison to the rest of the picture. I knew this as I was painting it but because I am using my sketchbook rather than watercolor paper I couldn’t lift it back out and had to settle as it was.

Author: lindsey Whittle Artist

Budding self taught artist

Leave a comment